A Word in Season Vol. 6

Daily Messages on the Faith For All of Life

Introducing the sixth in a series of books with daily messages by R. J. Rushdoony on the uncompromising faith.

These daily messages on the faith for all of life are unlike any compilation of Christian "devotional" ever published. In these pages, you won't find the overly introspective musings of a Christian pietist; what you'll discover are the hard-hitting convictions of a man whose sole commitment was faithfulness to God's law-word and representing that binding Word to his readers.

Although Dr. R. J. Rushdoony is most known for his scholarly works on theology, history, philosophy, economics, education, and statecraft, A Word in Season reveals the intense, but simple, approach to applying one's faith to every area of life and thought. This is all done in a format of bite-sized readings on the uncompromising faith.

The multi-volume series is taken from over 430 articles written by Rushdoony over the span of 25 years (1966-1991) for the California Farmer, an agricultural periodical that provided him a regular column entitled "The Pastor's Pulpit." It has long been a desire of many to see these insightful and challenging articles published in a book format. We're happy to announce that the wait is over. Read and enjoy!


Sample Audio


Opening Credits

1. Faith

2. The Great Subversion

3. Anarchy

4. None Other Gods

5. Love and Hate

6. Hate Conquers All

7. How to Love Your Neighbor

8. Debt

9. God and Taxes

10. Telling the Time

11. Proverbs

12. Birth of Christ Our King

13. The Pharisees

14. In Praise of Strong Language

15. Spiritual Arson

16. Confession

17. Cowardly Church Members

18. About Pastors

19. The Departing Pastor

20. Double Honor

21. Blindness

22. The Test of Preaching

23. Mummified Christians

24. Is the Church Obsolete?

25. Belonging

26. Laymen

27. Stumblebums

28. Junk Preaching

29. Soured Cream

30. Prayer as Insult

31. Christ and Delano

32. A Cheap God

33. The Everyday Sin

34. The Living God

35. Joy to the World

36. Taking Up the Cross

37. Listening

38. Contentment

39. Covetousness

40. Thou Shalt Not Steal

41. Self-Sufficiency

42. Problems

43. Keep Yourself in the Boat

44. The Birth of Our Lord

45. Happiness

46. Pleasures of Hatred

47. How to Be a Socialist Without Knowing It

48. Thou Shalt Not Covet

49. Calling Good Evil

50. Following the Leader

51. Sex Education

52. God with Us

53. Our Father

54. Priority

55. The Spirit and Life

56. John Knox and His Mother-in-Law

57. Real Wealth

58. Music

59. The Resurrection

60. Pleasing Men Not by Praise but by Prayer

61. Insulting Prayers

62. Men of Faith

63. Work and Progress

64. The Living God

65. Thieves’ Paradise

66. Folly on the Bench

67. Subsidizing Evil

Closing Credits

Read inside...

Product Contains256 MB & 250 MB zip files
Media Length2 hrs and 43 mins
TopicsCulture , Dominion, Media / Arts

About the author

R. J. Rushdoony

Rev. R.J. Rushdoony (1916–2001), was a leading theologian, church/state expert, and author of numerous works on the application of Biblical law to society. He started the Chalcedon Foundation in 1965. His Institutes of Biblical Law (1973) began the contemporary theonomy movement which posits the validity of Biblical law as God’s standard of obedience for all. He therefore saw God’s law as the basis of the modern Christian response to the cultural decline, one he attributed to the church’s false view of God’s law being opposed to His grace. This broad Christian response he described as “Christian Reconstruction.” He is credited with igniting the modern Christian school and homeschooling movements in the mid to late 20th century. He also traveled extensively lecturing and serving as an expert witness in numerous court cases regarding religious liberty. Many ministry and educational efforts that continue today, took their philosophical and Biblical roots from his lectures and books.

More by R. J. Rushdoony